So, I’ve just finished reading a transcript of Lil’ B’s lecture at NYU…

by Selom the Human

Image

…and wow. I really am impressed.

I always had an idea what Lil’ B was like. As much as he’d put out ignorant sounding songs (not that it was necessarily bad music) such as “Bill Bellamy” and “Wonton soup“, he’d also put out some really deep stuff. The song “I Am” is the reason I didn’t deem him the clown rapper that many people were making him out to be. In fact, “I Am” was the first Lil’ B song I’d ever heard. You can listen to that here.

Here are a couple of quotes taken from the lecture.

“Nobody in this building asked to be born. You didn’t ask to be you, bro. I didn’t ask to be me. I didn’t ask to have this skin. I didn’t ask to be who I was, bro. Nobody in here asked that. The beautiful people? Your beautiful parents made you, bro. You didn’t ask for that. You didn’t ask to live where you live or anything. So when you see people, forgive them and accept, you feel me? You gotta open your mind and say, man, nobody asked to be born.”

“I want to show: have friends of all creeds, all colors, all races. Stop saying, black, white, this, that—we’re all human. Now I don’t know everything. This is my philosophy. But I feel like things are just generalizations. Drop all that. Stop giving negative words so much power. Instead of saying, “Hey, look at him, he’s black,” just say, “Hey, where are you from? What is your nationality?” Just take two seconds instead of generalizing, …… you feel me?”

“Sometimes you look at yourself in the mirror like, “Ew, really?” For real. I went to the mirror, man, I’m like, “Damn. How? How am I succeeding?” Y’all make me feel gorgeous, but sometimes you go to the mirror like, “Oh my god, I’m not that gorgeous.” But it’s all from your heart though, and that’s why you can always feel gorgeous, one hundred percent. To say “I’m not that gorgeous” is only a reflection of the media. You are gorgeous. I’m telling you. You are what you believe you are. You are a model. You are a rapper. You are a student. You are a positive person. Don’t let these words feel like you’re different. Nobody is different, I’m telling you.”

You can read the full transcript here: http://www.thefader.com/2012/04/…

